My First Little House Books: A Little House Birthday by Laura Ingalls Wilder, 1932 (text), 1997 (illustrations), Harper Collins Publishers

screen-shot-2016-11-21-at-11-18-12-amA Little House Birthday is one of the My First Little House Books which are adapted from The Little House Books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. They tell the stories of Laura Ingalls Wilder in shorter picturebook format so that young kids can appreciate her timeless stories. A Little House Birthday tells the story of Laura’s fifth birthday with her family and the Sunday that followed her birthday. This book is so important and was one of my favorites when I was growing up! These books are adapted from chapter books about Laura’s life and highlight some of the best moments from these books. These books have received a lot of recognition for their sweet adaptations from the original books and the beautiful images that were illustrated by Doris Ettlinger. This is great for the reader who wants to know what it was like growing up on a prairie. The intended reader for this book is preschool to third grade, but I know I enjoyed these books for much longer than that.

Resources:

 

